Stand up for our great NHS

Lisa Crane, Green Party candidate for Stoneydelph, writes:

Following an accident on Sunday, I found myself in Good Hope A and E Department with a deeply lacerated knee. We’ve all heard the jibes about ‘No Hope’ but my experience was the total opposite. The receptionist was friendly and chatted pleasantly with my partner as he told her all my details.

Yes, I had to wait for a couple of hours but it’s common sense that children and those with head injuries who arrived after me should receive priority as my condition, although somewhat gruesome, was stable. Once I was seen by the nurses, they immediately assessed that I would need an X-ray and a doctor, and were efficient, friendly and most importantly kind to both me and my partner. The radiographer was pleasant and caring as were the porters who wheeled me there and back. After the doctors had determined that I’d require a trip to theatre and an overnight stay, this was organised with no fuss although I could hear that the nurses had to make several phone calls to arrange this due to problems with different departments being worried about the deadlines and time scales imposed on them from management above.

Every member of staff from auxiliaries, porters, nurses and students to anaesthetists and doctors were friendly, caring and gentle. I couldn’t have asked for better care and feel sad that so often NHS staff face criticism. They perform a hard job, work long hours, many of them are low paid and deserve praise for the service they provide.

It is shocking to know that the government want to jeopardise the NHS, free at the point of delivery, to bring in competition and privatisation.

Secondary legislation introduced by the Health Secretary on February 13, which could become law just 40 days after that without further debate, would introduce competitive markets to become compulsory except in rare exceptional circumstances – effectively ensuring that private health companies will have access to every area of NHS services.

We all need to defend the NHS and oppose plans for privatisation.

Lisa Crane, Secretary, Tamworth Green Party.

Feel free to leave a reply

